Norica 61 – some issues

I’ve published the first photos of my new Norica 61. I still haven’t started to restore it, but as I’ve hinted before, there are some issues with it.

I’ve tried to assess if the no firing issue was due to a bad breach seal  or something more complicated. I don’t have a final diagnosis yet, but I’ve managed to conclude that there are some serious issues with this gun’s internals.

While I was testing it, I could see the pellet wasn’t going nowhere, despite the spring being quite strong, so I tried cocking and firing it two times in a row. No success…

I had no more time to fiddle with it so I opened the breach and proceeded to remove the pellet.

When I pushed it out, some coarse sugar like rocks came out, inside the pellet’s “cup”.

The photos below show what I’m talking about:

image1

image2

In the first photo it’s possible to see the pellet with the yellow stuff stucked in it, and the second photo show the substance on top of the table.

This probably means the problem is worst than I anticipated and probably I’ll need a seal change (this gives me the chance to try to make one myself out of nylon or leather, or one try of each to see which works better).

Stay tuned. Updates will be coming

Leave a comment