Norica model 61 – the latest acquisition

It has been a while since I had the time to write. All my projects have been finished by now, and I decided it’s a good time to start a new one.

Last weekend I bought a ten year old Norica model 61 that is in dire need of attention to add to my collection.

As usual, I’ll be posting here all the steps of the restoration process as well as some before and after photos. This time I’ll try to make a video of the entire process as well that I will be posting in the end.

The rifle itself doesn’t have the amazing quality you’ll see in your average Diana rifle (or even your Gamo rifle, despite they are made by the same parent company in Spain) but it is supposed to be a quite honest little gun.

I haven’t had the chance to test it yet because it’s not currently firing (the spring has still some life in it, but it’s not firing). I’ll have to open it up to check if it’s a leak problem with the breach seal or if it’s something worst like a damaged piston seal.

This time I’m also thinking about tinkering with it a bit. Upgrading the spring and piston assembly to get it a bit up in power (as it’s not a really “collectible” or meaningful piece of kit I think it’ll be ok if I don’t stick to the original thing).

Photos will be coming soon!

Leave a comment